SUBCHAPTER 3A. ESTATE TAX--DECEDENTS DYING AFTER DECEMBER 31, 2001
N.J.A.C. 18:26-3A.10 (2014)
§ 18:26-3A.10 Payment; due date; interest; extension of time
(a) The New Jersey estate tax is due at the date of a decedent's death. However, if payment is made within nine months from the date of death, no late penalty shall be imposed.
(b) All or any part of the estate tax due this State, if not paid within nine months from the date of death, shall bear interest at the rate of 10 percent per annum from the expiration of the said nine months until the date of actual payment, unless an extension of time to file the Federal estate tax return is granted, in which case the Director may reduce the interest rate to six percent per annum until the expiration of the extension. If the decedent was a member of the United States armed forces, the estate tax will not bear interest until the expiration of nine months after receipt of official notification of the decedent's death by the decedent's husband, wife, father, civil union partner, mother, or next of kin. The Director may, for cause shown, extend the time for payment with interest at the rate of 10 percent per annum, for such period as the circumstances, in his or her discretion, may require. In those cases where a Federal estate tax return is not required to be filed and where an extension of time to file the Federal estate tax return is not requested, the Director may reduce the interest rate to six percent per annum for the period until the expiration of any extension of time requested and granted for the filing of the New Jersey estate tax return. The request must be filed on or before the due date of the return.
(c) All administrators, executors, trustees, grantees, donees and vendees shall be personally liable for any and all estate taxes until paid, for which an action at law shall lie in the name of the State.
(d) New Jersey estate tax returns (except returns filed using the Form 706 method, which are due nine months plus 30 days following the death of the decedent) must be filed within nine months following the death of the decedent. The Director may grant an extension of time in which a return may be filed. The estate representative may request an extension of time to file the New Jersey estate tax return for a period of six months beyond the original due date. Extensions beyond six months from the original due date of the return will be granted only in cases where the Director determines that exceptional circumstances exist. This subsection provides the authority only for an extension of time to file the tax return, and does not extend the time to pay the tax. The tax liability is due on the decedent's date of death and must be paid in full within nine months.
(e) Where interest has accrued at the time of any payment, such payment is first credited in satisfaction of the accrued interest, and the excess credited in payment of the tax chargeable. Interest shall continue to accrue on any remaining balance from the date of said payment to the date of final adjustment.